Combat Maneuvers

This is lifted almost verbatium from the Pathfinder Core Rule book, page 198 and 199. I like how it was done and that it makes things a simple roll instead of dragging things down with the multiple rolls and charts that we had in 3.5. However I won't be listing everything that a Combat Maneuver can do you can look it up and read it all in the book I'll just be listing the quick and dirty rules here for the moment.

During combat you can attempt to perform a number of maneuvers that can hinder or even cripple your foe, including but not limited to, bull rush, disarm, grapple (one roll, thank you gaming gods!), overrun, sunder, trip, throw and bowling. Although all these moves have vastly different results, they all use a similar mechanic to determine success.

Combat Maneuver Bonus aka Attack Roll
Base Attack Bonus + Strength Modifier + Special Size Modifier + Special Modifiers = CMB

Creatures that are Tiny or smaller use their Dexterity modifier in palce of the Strength modifier to determine their CMB. The special size modifier for a creature's Combat Maneuver Bonus is as follows: Fine -8, Diminutive -6, Tiny -2, Small -1, Medium +0, Large +1, Huge +2, Gargantuan +4, Colossal +8. Some feats and abilites grant a bonus to your CMB when performing specific maneuvers.

Combat Maneuver Defense aka Special Armor Class
Base 10 + Base Attack Bonus + Strength Modifier + Dexterity Modifier + Special Size Modifier + Special Modifiers = CMD

Creatures that are Tiny or smaller use their Dexterity modifier in palce of the Strength modifier to determine their CMB. The special size modifier for a creature's Combat Maneuver Bonus is as follows: Fine -8, Diminutive -6, Tiny -2, Small -1, Medium +0, Large +1, Huge +2, Gargantuan +4, Colossal +8. Some feats and abilites grant a bonus to your CMD when performing specific maneuvers. A creature can also add any circumstance, deflection, dodge, insight, morale, profane and sacred bonuses to AC to their CMD. A flat footed creature does not add its Dexterity bonus to it's CMD.

Determine success… or failure
If your attack roll equals or exceeds the CMD of the target, your maneuver is a success and has the listed effect. Some maneuvers have varying levels of success depending on how much your attack roll exceeds the targets CMD. Rolling a natural 20 while attempting a combat maneuver is always a success (except when attempting to escape from bonds), while rolling a natural 1 is always a failure.

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License